Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

It Was the Best of Times, It Was the Worst of Times… August 4, 2008

Filed under: life — mommyoffive @ 4:03 am
Tags:

I know, I know, it’s been a while since my last post. I’ve been mired in a sea of depression. Last Thursday was school registration day. That’s right – my summer is going to end in 16 days. Sigh.

On a much more positive note, Thursday was also BOOK CLUB NIGHT! I LOVE our little book club – we have the greatest bunch of gals ever. We laugh, we cry, we mock our husbands…we even discuss books every once in a while! We didn’t actually read a book this month, we were just searching out new and interesting books to read in the coming year. Since we’re a book club on a budget, we schedule our books way in advance so that everyone has a chance to check them out at the library or find them at bargain stores. We also try to work in a variety of genres and read some books that take us out of our comfort zones a little. And because we’re all mommies, we throw in some juvenile literature for good measure, too.

Without further ado, I present to you our list of books for the 2008-2009 book club season:

August – The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

September – The Red Tent by Anita Diamont (I’m way excited about this one!)

October – Bel Canto by Ann Patchett (This one sounds like a lot of fun.)

November – The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch

December – Seriously? You think we have time to read in December?

January – Gift From the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh

February – A History of Joseph Smith by His Mother

March – Fablehaven by Brandon Mull

April – The Bookseller of Kabul (I can’t wait for this one!)

May – The Last Promise by Richard Paul Evans (I’m not a huge RPE fan, we’ll have to see how this one is.)

June – A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

And here are a few books that didn’t make the cut this year, but I’ll be reading anyway because they sound so good:

An Ordinary Man by Paul Rusesabagna – This is his autobiography. And if you haven’t seen the movie “Hotel Rwanda” yet, you have really missed out. It’s a must see in my opinion.

The Namesake by ????

So, what do you think? Did we choose good books? I may have to suffer through the pain and despair of summer being over, but at least I’ll always have book club.

 

One Response to “It Was the Best of Times, It Was the Worst of Times…”

  1. Ker Says:

    Sounds like a good list. My friend in Lakeshore is reading the Fablehaven books and absolutely loves them. I’ve heard the last lecture by Randy Pausch and it’s fantastic. I found out we have a book club in my ward so I’ll post what i’m reading on my blog for you too!


Leave a Reply

