Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Yoikes!! Part Two August 6, 2008

Filed under: life,politics — mommyoffive @ 10:26 pm

Edit:  I just realized that I forgot to publish my first “Yoikes” post.  If I had, this title would have made much more sense.  But I didn’t, and now the first “Yoikes” is hopelessly outdated, so you’ll never get to see it.  I know, it’s a tragic loss for mankind.  Just carry on the best that you can.

I should have seen it coming.

I should have known something was up when the assistant campaign manager called me yesterday and asked me to meet with her.

I should have come up with an excuse. “I’m being tested for West Nile tomorrow.” “Due to a peculiar religious observance, I am not allowed to attend any meetings on Wednesdays.” “I’m sorry, but I won’t be able to attend. I’m working on perfecting my baked potato technique.”

I really do need to work on making better baked potatoes. I don’t know what I do wrong, but I can’t seem to get them to cook properly. I’ve even had friends try to walk me through the process step-by-step, but my potatoes still turn out like hard little undercooked rocks. It’s very sad.

But I digress….

Unfortunately, I suspected nothing. I thought I was just going in for some software training. Not so, Geronimo! Connie looked grave as she led me to her table. “Well, something has come up, and we’d like to put you in a new position.”

If you’ll recall, when I first volunteered to be a part of this campaign I thought I would just be putting a sign up in my front yard and taking out a few (hundred) doorknob hangers. That lasted about three days. Actually, the doorknob hangers lasted about a week and half. I still have nightmares about them.

Now, it would appear that I have worked my way up to Rural County Chair. Over five counties. FIVE. And I was worried about being over half a county before. Those were the days of innocence.

What does this mean? I’m blonde, how am I supposed to know? I’m learning as I go. I do get fun little perks like having the *confidential* campaign plan sitting right in front of me (If you’d like to know what it consists of, please send $500 to Jennifer at……I’m kidding, I’m kidding!), being invited to important campaign meetings, and having county officials ask me for my fax number so they can send information to me. While I’m sitting in my loft folding socks. It’s kind of funny.

This is actually a fairly big deal, because while Mr. C has the two urban counties pretty much in the bag, the rural counties are a different story. They’re kind of his pet project right now. He wants to make sure that he has a strong presence and understanding of the issues in those counties, too. This is the kind of stuff that makes him a great candidate. They are VERY IMPORTANT to him, so I CANNOT mess this up. Excuse me for a minute while I go throw up.

And in other, far more imprtant news, Daniel has turned 14! Happy birthday, my little geeklet!

 

One Response to “Yoikes!! Part Two”

  1. Ker Says:

    Yoikes is RIGHT! Good luck with that one! Can’t believe Daniel is 14………where does time go and WHY do our kids get older and we don’t!!


Leave a Reply

