Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

My Addiction August 18, 2008

Filed under: life — mommyoffive @ 4:43 am
Tags:

My name is Jennifer and I am a huge Jane Austen fan.

So much so that my last two daughters were named after characters in her books.  Emma and Elizabeth.  Except that “Elizabeth” came out with an extra appendage.  So we named him after Todd’s favorite character, Wolverine, instead.  Yup, that’s where the “Logan” came from.  We’re so mature.

Back to topic.  My all-time favorite book is Pride and Prejudice.  I love it love it love it.  I read it at least once a year.  I like to pretend that I’m as lively and witty as Elizabeth.  In reality, I’m probably much more like Mr. Darcy.  Hey, I just realized I could be their love child!  I love this book so much that I can almost understand where all of the Twilight crazies are coming from, except that P&P is actually well written.

I also fanantically watch every version of P&P that comes out.  Here they are, in order of best to worst:

1.  Pride and Prejudice Supreme (aka the A&E Version) – I watched this for the first time when I was expecting Emma and couldn’t stop throwing up long enough to sleep at night.  It was the best six hours of my entire pregnancy.  Then it was the best twelve hours.  Then the best eighteen…You get the picture.  This is probably the only movie ever made that I can watch over and over and over again.  I’ve even perfected the art of using slo-mo through Colin Firth’s pond scene so that I can fully *appreciate* that fine bit of acting.

2.  Pride and Prejudice, the BBC Version – This one is much truer to the book than A&E’s submission.  But not nearly as pretty.  If only Colin Firth were in it…..

3.  Bride and Prejudice – P&P goes Bollywood!  You MUST see this at least once.  You will never see Naveen Andrews in the same light again.

4.  Pride and Prejudice, 40’s style – I adore old movies, but it’s simply impossible to do justice to P&P in 117 minutes.  Still, Laurence Olivier was my second favorite Darcy.

5.  Pride and Prejudice, the Mormon edition – It’s amusing in it’s own special way.

6.  Pride and Prejudice, the Kiera Knightly version – Oh, the humanity!  They killed P&P!  I didn’t even know it was possible to so thoroughly destroy a storyline.  I was very disappointed in this movie.  Very Disappointed.

On Friday, the girls and I found a new version to add to our list:  Pride and Prejudice, the Musical!

It was a world premier at a local outdoor theater.  I have to admit, I was skeptical.  I wasn’t sure P&P would lend itself well to a musical format anywhere but Bollywood.  Happily, I was WRONG!  It was wonderful!  The songs were beautiful, the actors were amazing, and the playwright actually managed to do a fairly respectable job of condensing the story into just over two and a half hours.  We even bought an original soundtrack.  When this one goes to Broadway, I’ll be able to say that I was a part of its humble beginnings.

Sarah and I are busily working on memorizing the lyrics to every Mr. Darcy song.  I’m winning.   I’m just glad that we went toward the end of its run, or I may have become a serious theater groupie.

So there you have it.  My little addiction.  But at least it’s not Twilight.

 

Leave a Reply

