Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

*Let it snow! Let it snow! Let it snow!* December 24, 2008

Filed under: Christmas,large familes,parenting — mommyoffive @ 12:23 am
Tags:

Joshua’s prayers have been answered – we are going to have a very white Christmas.  I love having snow at Christmastime – it makes everything seem so much more festive.  (I must admit, though, that I would like snow even more if it would stay off the roads and would somehow manage to be warm.)

I am finally ready for Christmas – the gifts are almost all wrapped, the neighbor gifts are almost all delivered (I thought that I had made plenty, but it turns out that we’re more popular than I thought, so I had to make a few more today), and our house is almost clean.  So really, when I said I was ready for Christmas, I  meant that I’m as ready as I’ll ever get.  I do have a dastardly plan in place to lock Daniel in our master closet tomorrow and have him assemble Josh’s gift from Santa.   Otherwise Todd and I will literally be up all night.  Don’t worry about Daniel – it’s a big closet.  And we might even let him out for potty breaks.

And now for a list of our  favorite Christmas traditions:

6.  Putting everything off until the very last minute.  The extra adrenaline rush this causes really adds to the Christmas spirit.

5.  Christmas stories.  We count down to Christmas by wrapping 23 Christmas books and putting them under the tree on December 1st.  Then each evening we open one up and read it.  Since we’re on our last one, I happen to know that tonight we’ll be reading “The Littlest Angel.”  This one is guaranteed to make Todd cry.  Which the kids think is hi-lar-i-ous.

4.  Christmas Eve dinner.  I usually go all out and make a turkey dinner with all the works, but due to an unfortunate incident involving Thanksgiving dinner and my neverending morning sickness, this year we’ll be having ham.

3.  The Nativity story.  Did you notice that that I said we wrap 23 books to put under the tree?  That’s because on Christmas Eve we read the nativity story from the bible while we’re gathered around the tree.  Sheer bliss!

2.  The Christmas Eve sing-a-long.  Do you have a hard time getting your children to go to bed on Christmas Eve?  We have a sure-fire solution!  Once we’ve finished reading the nativity story, we force our children to sing every Christmas song we can think of.  Sometimes multiple times.  And we are NOT a musical family.  After about thirty minutes of singing at the top of our lungs, the kids are BEGGING us to let them go to bed.  Works like a charm.

1.  Christmas Day!  We always have sticky buns and let the kids unwrap the presents in one big frenzy.  Then we spend the rest of the day hanging out in pajamas and playing with all of our new toys.  It’s the most wonderful, laziest day of the year!

 

3 Responses to “*Let it snow! Let it snow! Let it snow!*”

  1. janae Says:

    You are hi-lar-i-ous, as well! I made Sam read this (I always call him to read the good posts people do) and he laughed OUT LOUD. That’s good. Good luck with the Christmas rush!

  2. Congratulations! You won our leg warmer Give Away! Please send me your address so I can forward it on to Snuggle Luv. (kacy@lightrefreshmentsserved.com) Merry Christmas!

  3. Kerri Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day. We spend the day running from one house to another! But the kids love seeing family so….it makes it worth it.

    I’m up for the no snow on the roads if you figure out how to make that work.:) I understand from reliable sources that YOU have a heck of a lot more snow than we do. See ya on New Years!!


Leave a Reply

