Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Blwyddyn Newydd Dda! January 1, 2009

Filed under: large familes,life — mommyoffive @ 9:42 pm

That’s “Happy New Year” in Welsh, by the way.  How cool is a language where you can have that many consonants in one phrase?

We usually celebrate New Year’s Eve by heading up to Todd’s home town to hang out with some of his high school friends.  (Hi, Kerri!)  Unfortunately, due to the fact that we were all in various stages of recovery from ye olde Christmas cold and that my morning, or rather, evening sickness kicks in with a vengeance after 6 pm, we just couldn’t bring ourselves to make the trip this year.  Spendloves to the rescue!

The Spendloves are a family from our old neighborhood who are as happily dysfunctional as we are.  And every bit as competitive at games.  Which is a quality that is very hard to find these days.  We were invited to their home for dinner and the aforementioned games.

They had quite the international crowd in attendance.  One lovely lady was visiting her daughter from the UK.  She actually found Roman coins in her backyard when she was redoing her garden path.  Roman coins!  All I ever find in my back yard is dog poop.  Not nearly as exciting.  She also has an ancient castle in her hometown.  I wanna live in England!  There was also a new arrival from China.  I think I frightened her just a little bit when she discovered that I was actually expecting baby #6.

International visitors aside, we had a delicious smelling ham dinner with lots of yummy looking desserts.  I say “smelling” and “looking” because I didn’t actually dare eat anything.  Nothing ruins a good party like a pregnant lady puking all over the dinner table, so I wasn’t taking any chances.

And then it was time for the games.  For those of you who’ve never had the…shall we say “opportunity” to play a game with me, you need to understand that I am just a teensy bit over-competitive.  Think Monica from Friends.  Only worse.  My own children are usually afraid to play with me.  Given my current “delicate condition,” however, I had convinced myself that this year I would be happy to remain a peaceful spectator.  Alas, this was not to be.  They brought out my favorite game – basically a type of killer group solitare on speed –  and I was pulling up a chair.  I think I may have given the baby brain damage from continously slamming up against the table in an effort to play all of my cards.  It paid off, though.  I totally creamed them all.

Believe it or not, I actually managed to stay up until midnight.  Without throwing up.  It was a New Year’s miracle!

And speaking of New Year’s miracles, here are my resolutions:

1.  Start the year with a clean house.  So far, so good.  I am currently blogging to the sweet, sweet sounds of the vacuum cleaner, carpet cleaner, dryer, and dishwasher all running at the same time. (You’ll notice that I did not say that I would work on energy conservation.)

2.  Catch up on my “scrapbooking.”  Many years and several kids ago, I was an avid scrapbooker.  Now I have been reduced to using photobooks from Picaboo and Shutterfly.  And I’m still behind.  It doesn’t help that when Todd wiped our computer a few months ago, he also wiped out our 2007 book that was *this close* to being finished.  Oh well.  I should have plenty of time to work on new books while I nurse the baby this year.

3.  Stop neglecting the blog.  That’s right, I’m going back to my initial goal of two posts a week.  Which is why I’m posting about New Years before Christmas.  This way, I know that I’ll have something else to write about this week.  It’s not cheating – it’s creative problem solving.  I also promise to keep my “Quote of the Week” updated, since it apparently drives Todd crazy that I only update it about once a month.

4.  Break my “Spider Solitare” addiction.  I’ve already taken steps toward this.   I deleted it from my computer yesterday.  And I’m only a little bit sad about it today.  I’m barely even thinking about it.  Of course, it’s still installed on the kids’ computer….

 

2 Responses to “Blwyddyn Newydd Dda!”

  1. Kerri Says:

    JEN!!! Hi back to ya and Hello from everyone at Scott and Robins NYE party. It was fun, but we missed you. Chels especially missed having someone to hang out with. Oh well, we’ll get ’em next year! Hope everyone feels better soon. Hang in there with the “evening sickness”. I had that with Hailey and it was the pits.

  2. janae Says:

    Hey! I broke my Spider Solitaire addiction earlier this year!! (Earlier last year??) I also took the plunge and deleted it off the computer. OUCH. It took a while for me to get used to it. And I still have cravings every week or two. But I’ve been clean for a few months now and it feels good! 🙂


Leave a Reply

