Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

What Ever Happened With… February 2, 2009

Filed under: politics — mommyoffive @ 1:16 am

A question that people ask me all the time is, “What ever happened with that campaign you were working on?”

Short answer:  Mr. C, now known as Congressman Jason Chaffetz, won by a landslide.

The landslide victory wasn’t exactly a surprise, since his opponent didn’t put up much of a fight.  This kind of makes me sad.  Of course, I wanted Mr. C to win, but there’s nothing I love more than a good debate.  It helps to clarify everyone’s positions.   But I digress.

Mr. C is now in Washington, DC, helping to bring the Republican Party back to it’s conservative roots, and doing a darn good job of it so far.

Long answer:  The only regret I have about this pregnancy is that during the most crucial, most exciting month of the campaign, I was at my absolute sickest.  I essentially had to drop out right when we got the ball to the 5 yard line.   (See, in honor of Superbowl Sunday I just threw in a football reference.  That one’s for you, Todd.)  I’m still upset about it.  I hate being a “quitter.”  That’s why it took me so long to blog about it.  It makes me sad.  Plus, my kids were really, really mad when I was too sick to take them to the victory party afterward.  (This all started as an attempt to get Sarah married off to Mr. C’s son, after all.)

Do I regret getting involved with the campaign in the first place?  Absolutely not!  It was an amazing experience, and I feel so privileged to have been able to take a small part in it.  I met some wonderful people from all over the state.  Well, okay, from all over our congressional district, but it encompasses a lot of territory, so it counts.  I got an inside look into politics, and ya know what – not all politicians are bad.  And “real” people truly can make a difference and contribute to the way our country is run.

I am especially proud of my new congressman.  In this age of rampant spending, he took being “budget conscious” to a whole new level.  He ran his entire campaign with volunteers – that’s right, not one paid staff member.  Not one.  He wouldn’t even buy us dinner.  In fact, most of his staff were housewives.  Yup, when you need something done right, ask a mommy.  We’ll get the job done.  And I’ve digressed again….  He was gracious, thoughtful, always stayed on message, and worked HARD to get elected, even though as I said before, his victory was a foregone conclusion once the primary was over.

I am proud to have a man like that representing me in Congress.  It gives me hope for this great country of ours.  But I really, really wish I could have stuck it out ’til the end.

 

Leave a Reply

