Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

The Heavens Have Smiled Upon Me March 31, 2009

Filed under: large familes,life — mommyoffive @ 8:52 am

Ah, Springtime in the Rockies.  Saturday we were doing yard work in t-shirts, Sunday we were shoveling snow.  Many people have expressed dismay at the current bipolar state of Mother Nature, but not I.   Oh no, not I.

And why am I not bothered by the several snowstorms predicted for this week?  Because it’s book fair week.  And the first week of soccer.  These both fall under the category of “Things That Make Me Happy.”  Just not at the same time.  I love, love, love running the book fair, but it’s very hour intensive.  I also love soccer season, but with four children involved in various ways and a husband who doesn’t get home from work until the soccer games are over, it also requires a lot of running around town.  And a fair share of mathematical algorithms to ensure that everyone is at the right place at the right time.  Throw in track team, music lessons, dance class, homework, church activities and dinner and I was faced with a bit of a logistical nightmare.  In my non-pregnant state I would embrace the challenge.  In my looking-like-a-hippopotamus-with-glandular-issues-ready-to-pop-at-any-minute state, I was feeling a titch panicked.  And relying a little too heavily on my ice cream habit.

But never fear, because due to the fact that the soccer fields are still covered in snow (or at least very, very soggy), soccer has been canceled for the week.  My life just got a whole lot easier.

This almost makes up for the fact that I didn’t get to watch Maks dance last night.  *Almost.*  Come on, people, I know that Denise was terrible, but watching the sheer beauty that is Maks is one of the fews things that brings me joy these days.  And now he’s gone…

 

2 Responses to “The Heavens Have Smiled Upon Me”

  1. janae Says:

    I *love* the way you write. You seriously have a talent!!

  2. Aimee Tucker Says:

    I am so glad that your prayers were answered. I don’t know how you keep up with your normal schedule, much less throw in booksale and baby on the way.


Leave a Reply

