Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Mr. Daniel Goes to the State Capital April 27, 2009

Filed under: teenagers — mommyoffive @ 2:12 pm

Ah, Daniel.  He’s done it again.

Do you remember the science fair that he was so NOT excited about?  The one in which he refused to attend the awards ceremony because “8th graders can’t win anything anyway”?  It turns out that they can, in fact, win.  First place, even.  So the poor science fair people had to track him down at school to give him his trophy, $50 check, and invitation to compete in another science competition. Which he may or may not do.  He’s contemplating.

On that same day, he had been invited to attend another mathematics awards ceremony hosted by the governor himself!  Since Todd got the honor of taking him (I can barely drive across town these days, much less into the heart of the big, big city), I really don’t have a lot of juicy details.  It seems that the men in my life are not nearly as verbose as I am.  But here is what I have managed to glean from the meager information they have given me:

Traffic was terrible.

Utah’s colleges really, really want our little geniouses to stay in state.

The governor is an incredibly good sport when it comes to having his picture taken fifty-kajillion times by the official state photographer (I didn’t even know we had one of those).

Most smart people really are short.  We keep noticing this over, and over, and over…

Along with his intellect, Daniel has also inherited his photogenic abilities from me.

Really, he was happy to be there, I promise.  We’re just incredibly bad at taking good pictures.

In other news, Sarah has received her first traffic ticket.  She’s already done the time at traffic school.  And she now refuses to drive on Main Street.  She seems to think that there’s a grumpy old cop with a vendetta against her just waiting to pull her over again.

And yes, I’m still preggo.  Don’t say I didn’t warn you.  And whatever you do, DO NOT call,  e-mail, or drop by to ask if I’ve had the baby yet.  In my overly-hormonal state, I can’t be held accountable for what I might do.

 

3 Responses to “Mr. Daniel Goes to the State Capital”

  1. janae Says:

    Main Street is plagued. I swear. Half my family has been pulled over on Main Street while coming to visit us. Spanish Fork is just so sweet that the cops have nothing better to do!

  2. ker Says:

    Good for Daniel. Sorry the pic looks like he went to a funeral! Hang in there with the baby….my guess is tomorrow……………..i think 🙂

  3. Jessica Clouse Says:

    Wow! Congrats to Daniel…smart kid!
    I’ve heard cops here in A.F. are pretty awnry too. I just have to add that Utah drivers drive VERY SLOW. Must be the cops around here:)


Leave a Reply

