Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Oh, What Do You Do in the Summertime? June 3, 2009

Filed under: large familes,life,summer field trips — mommyoffive @ 12:44 pm
Tags:

P5210006

That’s right – school is OUT!!!  Since I’ve previously gushed about how much I love summer vacation, I won’t bore you with it again.  Let’s just say that I am happy HAPPY HAPPY to have all of my kids home and be on my own schedule.  Even if it means that my house has suddenly become a gathering place for teenage boys of all shapes and sizes. Some are here for Sarah, some are here for Daniel, some are just here for food.

And we have plans, baby, BIG PLANS.  First off, tomorrow Sarah is heading to California with the high school tennis team.  What’s that?  You didn’t know she was on the tennis team?  Neither did I.  Apparently she finagled her way onto the team just in time for the trip.  Then all of the boys are off on a father/son campout for the weekend.  This will leave just me, Em, and Bitsy (Elisabeth) at home.  Where do you think we should go out for dinner?

Other trips planned for this summer include:  camping trips to South Dakota (coming up very soon), Bear Lake, and Huntington Canyon, and day trips to Bridal Veil Falls, the Grotto, Cascade Springs, Payson Lakes, Maple Lake, and possibly the Discovery Gardens at Thanksgiving Point (since Joshua is on an ant kick right now).  Do you have any other suggestions for me?  Remember, I’ll have a newborn and a budget, so all trips need to be non-strenuous and cheap.  Especially cheap.

Emma will be on the swim team again and apparently Sarah will be going to twice weekly tennis practices.  Joshua is planning additional fishing trips, and Jakob will be getting into lots of trouble.  Daniel has signed up for some online computer classes.  He’s also started a crazy summer workout schedule with one of his friends.  It involves huge amounts of running and weight lifting at freakishly early hours.  I’m telling you, the kid is NOT normal.

As for my own, personal plans –  I plan on reading lots of books while nursing and snuggling with a very cute baby girl.  I also plan on eating lots of ice cream and strawberries.  I know – the ambition of it all is astounding.

Happy summer everyone!

 

2 Responses to “Oh, What Do You Do in the Summertime?”

  1. janae Says:

    I *loved* South Dakota! I’m just sure that the beautiful Windows green field picture that was on the background of everyone’s computer was taken in South Dakota. And the area around Mt Rushmore is PHENOMENAL. Lucky, lucky you guys! 🙂

  2. Jess Says:

    Sounds like a FUN summer!!!


Leave a Reply

