Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

In Which Jakob Invents a New Game and Jennifer Falls Into the Depths of Despair June 17, 2009

Filed under: large familes,life — mommyoffive @ 2:15 pm
Tags:

This is Jakob:

image350

He is cute, but very naughty.

This is a giant beanbag chair:

P6110001

It’s ugly, it’s stinky, it takes up way too much room.  And so does the beanbag chair.  (Poor Bella.)

This is what the downstairs beanbag currently looks like:

P6170028

And you thought it couldn’t get any uglier.  Notice how you can see all of the icky foam bits through the transparent inner lining.  The zipper on the beanbag cover has been irreparably damaged.  Todd has been begging me to find a way to fix the cover.  He loves the ugly beanbag chair.  I have been refusing to have anything to do with it.  I hate the beanbag chair.  I want it to go live on a farm somewhere.

This is Todd’s super special computer mouse:

P6170030

Notice how it comes with a shiny red roller ball.

This is what happens when Jakob unzips the beanbag chair, takes the ball out of the computer mouse, throws the ball into the foam filled beanbag chair, and then puts on goggles and goes swimming in the foam to find the ball:

P6110004

And is this why I reached the depths of despair?  No, my friends, it is not.

I reached the depths of despair because when Todd came home from work, instead of wisely conceding that perhaps it was indeed time for the beanbag chair to meet its end, he spent THREE HOURS picking up every little shred of foam and refilling the stupid thing.

It’s still in my family room.  Mocking me.  Every time I walk past it, it whispers, “Daddy loves me more than he loves you.”

Sigh…

 

3 Responses to “In Which Jakob Invents a New Game and Jennifer Falls Into the Depths of Despair”

  1. janae Says:

    I WANT YOUR CREATIVITY!! No, seriously. I do. What a clever way to do this post. I may copy you. As soon as I have some incident that merits a good post. So fabulous!

    ps. sorry that your husband loves his ugly beanbag chair more than you. 😉

  2. ker Says:

    Oh so sorry that Todd has a “thing” for this bean bag. And Jacob has got to be THE MOST creative toddler I’ve ever met!

    Maybe one day the ugly bean bag chair could somehow find its way out of the house and never leave a note telling you where it has gone?

    Good Luck!

  3. Mindy Says:

    I’m sorry, but this totally made me laugh. Aren’t husbands wonderful?


Leave a Reply

