Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Seeing Spots September 27, 2009

Filed under: large familes — mommyoffive @ 9:31 pm
Tags:

I’m gonna let you in on a little secret:  I am NOT a girly girl.  I can’t do hair, I don’t paint my nails, and the Twilight buzz still baffles me.  When Emma was younger and wanted someone to play Barbie dolls with her, she would take them to Todd.  That’s right, Todd plays with Barbie dolls.  I would rather scrub toilets than play with Barbie dolls.  Yep, it’s that bad.

But every once in while, from somewhere WAY down deep inside me, a little girly voice pipes up, “Jennifer, be feminine – wear pink polka dots.”

Up until now I’ve been able to quelch that voice.  “No!  I will not wear pink polka dots!  Pink polka dots are for sissies!”  And then I go and do something manly, like cleaning out the dryer vent.  (What – you thought it would be more manly?  Have you seen my wimpy Grover arms?)  OK, so I’m mostly just manly in my mind.

Anyway…the pajama situation around here has been sad lately.  Emma has been going to bed wearing a dress that only Miss Havisham could love.  Bitsy has totally outgrown all of her newborn footsie pajamas and has been using Jakob’s hand-me-downs.  As for myself – you don’t want to know.  But there is a campground full of people in South Dakota who may or may not be emotionally scarred from having seen me in my ratty old purple pjs.  And my midwife actually laughed at me when she saw what I was wearing when I had Elisabeth.

In a fortuitous turn of events, Sew, Mama, Sew happened to be hosting a pajama sew along in September.

One sew along

+

one inner voice crying out for pink polka dots

+

cooler fall weather demanding real sleepwear

+

two little girls who will wear anything

one teenage girl who thinks I’m way too cheesy for words

=

P9270016

And now that you’ve survived the horror of seeing me in my pajamas, here’s a picture that’s actually cute:

P9270047

And just in case you’re wondering where I managed to get matching pajama patterns in all of our sizes, I didn’t.  Emma’s pjs were from a pattern, and then I made up the patterns for Bitsy and myself.  Those tops are one of a kind, baby.  See, I’m talented and tacky all at once!

Sweet dreams, everyone!

P9270035

Edit – I almost forgot the most important part:  Emma made her pajama bottoms all by herself.  You go, girl!

 

6 Responses to “Seeing Spots”

  1. Irie Momma Says:

    They are adorable!!!! Now I want to have matching PJs with my little girl!

  2. Jody Says:

    So cute!!! Your daughter did a great job of making her own pants.

  3. Mindy Says:

    Oh I love it! They turned out great! This is so not what I was picturing when you said you were making pajamas. SO CUTE! And I am not a pink polka dot girl either, but I would totally do it if I had those cute girls to match with. They are lucky to have such a talented mommy!

  4. Amy Says:

    Can’t believe that teen wouldn’t participate in family cheesiness.

  5. […] We thought this matching polka dot set was pretty fantastic from Keeping up with the Jameses: […]

  6. Shirley Says:

    I love them. Congratulation on being a winner in the pj contest.


Leave a Reply

