Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

The Advantages of Aging October 5, 2009

Filed under: life — mommyoffive @ 12:39 pm

This past week, two things happened that could have made me feel very, very old.

Daniel got his learner’s permit.  Yep, we now have two teenage drivers in our house.  Be afraid.  Be very afraid.  But also be thankful to Cody, who has already given Daniel his first driving lessons (if driving on a dirt road in the middle of nowhere while hunting rabbits counts).

Sarah turned seventeen.  SEVENTEEN.  I was seventeen when I went away to college.  But only for a few days.  But still…how did I survive?

Normally these two events would have me wallowing in self-pity, frantically checking for gray hairs, and going on-line to find the cheapest price for Depends.  I might even dress all in black and mope around the house for a day or so.

But not today my friends, not today.  Because I just realized that in just four short years, Sarah will finally be old enough to go on The Amazing Race with me.

I’m coming, Phil!

 

One Response to “The Advantages of Aging”

  1. Aimee Tucker Says:

    I love Amazing Race. You and Sarah will make a great team. Give Phil a hug from me. No one would ever guess that you have two teenager drivers.


Leave a Reply

