Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Most of the Month Still Counts, Right? November 3, 2009

Filed under: life — mommyoffive @ 10:23 pm
Tags:

“The Pilgrims made seven times more graves than huts. No Americans have been more impoverished than these who, nevertheless, set aside a day of thanksgiving.” – H. U. Westermayer

Last year toward the very end of November I stumbled upon a fantastic blog idea:  write about a different thing you are thankful for each day of the month.  I know, I know, it’s really not a unique notion, but to me it was BRILLIANT.  I resolved to do a daily gratitude post as soon as next November rolled around.  And then I promptly forgot about it.

Until today.  And I’m not sure why I remembered it today, but I’m glad I did.  So without further ado, I give you:

A Month of Gratitude – Day Three

(with mini-entries for days one and two) (although they both happened today, too) (hey, it’s my blog, I don’t have to follow any rules)

Today is easy – I am grateful for the opportunity I had to VOTE in our local elections.  We were electing a new mayor and two city councilmen, and I have to say that every candidate would have done a terrific job.  I really respect these men for being willing to run for office for all of the right reasons, and I wish that we could have just elected all of them.  And how awesome is it that TWO of our candidates were teachers?!  The perfect voting weather made me happy, too, since I was able to walk up to the school with Bitsy and Jakester to vote.  It was much more fun than driving to the school and back and then spending my afternoon doing something productive, like laundry.  Although I’m just now realizing that I may be attending tomorrow morning’s PTA meeting in the nude.  Do you think that would cause any controversy?

Back on topic:  I am also grateful for the moms in our Mom-n-Me preschool group who agreed to go to Jaxies with me when preschool was cancelled due to illness.  Because I’ll take any excuse to go out to lunch with friends.

And  my abs are really, truly grateful to Randi for taking turbo class seriously tonight and ignoring my pathetic attempts at humor when I was trying to distract everyone from my pitiful performance.   I am also grateful that no one actually laughed out loud at me as I failed miserably at looking cool while kickboxing.  Eh, who am I kidding?  I pretty much failed at kickboxing entirely.  I could totally teach a “Spazzercise” class, though.

 

Leave a Reply

