Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Gratitude Month – Day 13 – Wacky Health Supplements November 13, 2009

Filed under: life — mommyoffive @ 11:16 pm
Tags:

I became pretty anemic during my first five pregnancies.  It might have had something to do with my not being able to eat anything for months on end.   Because when I’m not pregnant, I have all kinds of iron in my system.  Not pregnant – I attract magnets.  Pregnant – I repel magnets.

The typical remedy for anemia is to take iron supplements.  Which tend to make nausea worse.  It’s a vicious cycle, really.  So when I was expecting Jakob, I gave up on taking iron supplements entirely and decided to embrace my anemia.  This turned out to be a really bad idea when I hemorrhaged after he was born.  If you’re gonna lose large quantities of blood after giving birth, you should at least make sure that the little bit of blood you get to keep is high quality.  Because if it isn’t, you will feel like one of Edward’s early victims.  You know, before he became all stalkerish and sappy and was just an honest vampire.  Back when he was decent, basically.  And you will feel this way for months afterward.  Not fun.

So when Elisabeth was on her way, I decided that maybe I should be a little more proactive in keeping my red blood cells happy.  My midwife suggested that I start taking chlorophyll.  Chlorophyll.  As in “plant juice.”  Weird.  But her other suggestion was to drink spinach smoothies, and there was only so much crazy I could take.  So I tried the chlorophyll.  And ya know what?  It worked!  I may have puked up everything in sight for five solid months and walked like Lurch after my pelvis fell apart, but I was NOT anemic.  And after Elisabeth was born, I felt fabulous!

Although I do sometimes feel an uncontrollable urge to run outside, bury my feet in the dirt, and stretch my arms out to the sun…

 

 

 

One Response to “Gratitude Month – Day 13 – Wacky Health Supplements”

  1. janae Says:

    I *love* midwives. Seara was always underweight (2% on the scale) and we couldn’t figure out what was wrong. My doctor suggested all these tests and medicines – UGH. I didn’t go for it. With Elijah I had a midwife. I told her about the problem. Her suggestion? Drink whole milk. It was pretty hard to get myself to do that, but guess what? Ever since then my babies have been in the 50% range! The milk I pumped for Sease would have a millimeter size layer of fat on the top. With the boys the fat layer was about 1/3 to 1/2 of the milk pumped. Yeah. Awesome. I love midwives.


Leave a Reply

