Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Gratitude Month – Day 24 – The Magic Hour November 24, 2009

Filed under: 406 — mommyoffive @ 4:48 pm

“God gave you a gift of 86,400 seconds today.  Have you used one to say “thank you?””  ~William A. Ward

(Pretend like there’s a cute picture of Elisabeth getting into trouble here.  The computer is acting up and Daniel isn’t home to help me fix it, so I can’t download any pics.)

Elisabeth was CRANKY today.  She is either teething, or has a cold, or both.  And I had a TON of stuff to accomplish AND a very messy kitchen to clean, since last night I felt the uncontrollable urge to make cinnamon rolls.  (Oddly enough, I am not the only person who felt this urge.  At Em’s Thanksgiving class party another mom confessed that she, too, had made cinnamon rolls last night.  Must be something in the air.)

Every time I tried to put her down, she would cry.  And then her nose would run.  And I would have to wipe it.  Which would make her cry.  At one point I had to put her down so that I could *ahem* powder my nose, and during the 3.2 seconds it took for me to walk to the bathroom, she crawled over to my computer, pulled herself  up on the chair, and knocked a clipboard off of the desk and on top of her head.  This also made her cry.  And then she couldn’t figure out how to sit back down.  This really made her cry.  I gave her a bath.  She was happy.  I tried to get her dressed.  She cried.  I tried to work on a very exciting project (more details to come).  She cried.  I made lunch for myself and the Jakester.  She cried.  I made lunch for her.  She cried.  I gave up all hope of cleaning the kitchen and instead focused on getting ready for Em’s party.  Bitsy cried if I even attempted to sit down.  I finally gave up trying to accomplish anything and just rocked her.  She finally fell asleep – 1/2 hour before we had to leave.

BUT…everyday between 2:45 and 3:45 pm, something magical happens.  I look forward to this hour like you would not believe.  Sometimes I start counting down before we’ve even had lunch.  The older children start returning home from school and Elisabeth LIGHTS UP.  Apparently her big brothers and sisters are sooooo much more fun to play with than I am.

She’s been happily playing with her siblings ever since Sarah picked her up from Emma’s classroom.  And now if you’ll excuse me, I still have a ton of stuff to get done.

 

Leave a Reply

