Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Eleven Years Ago… December 13, 2009

Filed under: 406 — mommyoffive @ 3:49 pm

…I was anxiously awaiting the birth of my Christmas baby – due December 18th.  She was born on Christmas Day.  Which was actually quite timely, compared with Bitsy’s late arrival.

Because she has such a fabulous date of birth, we celebrate her birthday on the day of the month that is how old she will be turning.  So this weekend, she had a birthday party!

There was a birthday cake – pumpkin swirl cheesecake with pecan gingersnap crust, to be exact.  I’m telling you, the girl’s got taste.

There were gifts to be opened.

Then it was time to go ice skating.  They were more excited than they look, I promise.

While the girls took off on the ice, I tried to help Josh.  Notice his stylin’ mittens.  He stole them from me.  But first, I stole them from Sarah.  And before that, Emma stole my real mittens.  They’re lost now.

Then he found a “skating aide,” which was basically a miniature walker.   He liked that much better.

Right after I took that picture, I crashed spectacularly.  I was trying to talk to Josh while skating backwards, and since skating forward while not talking is almost too much for me to handle, the results were not good.  Sorry, no picture.  🙂

In the meantime, the girls found more walkers.  It seems that they thought they were too good to fall.  Wimps.

Eventually, Emma got the hang of it!  Mostly.  But at least she gave up the geriatric method of skating.

We ended the day with some yummy hot chocolate.

Happy Birthday, Noodle!

 

Leave a Reply

