Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

The Big Announcement January 5, 2010

Filed under: 406 — mommyoffive @ 10:22 pm

Whew!  It has been a busy day!

I woke up early this morning to go to a very important press conference where  Mike Lee announced his candidacy for the United States Senate.  I am working as his volunteer coordinator, and I’ve been amazed by how many people have signed up to help today.  I didn’t think I’d ever finish contacting all of them.

Once again, I’ve managed to tie myself to a grassroots campaign.  Roughly translated, this means that everything is done through volunteers.  I don’t get paid.  Why am I doing this again?  Because I’m tired of complaining about the government, because I’m tired of voting for the lesser of two evils, and because John Adams inspired me.  I’m telling ya, book clubs can change the world.

You can go here to find out about the “official” Mike Lee, but here is some insider information:   Mike is awesome, his wife is a sweetheart, and his kids are adorable.  He is committed to running a positive campaign.   Today one of the reporters was trying SO HARD to get Mike to go on the attack against the incumbent, and Mike wouldn’t do it.  One of the main rules of our campaign is “Be Nice.”  We don’t disparage the other candidates, we don’t steal delegates, we focus on what Mike CAN do instead of what others can’t.  Apparently this strategy has served Mike well in the past.  I was contacted today by a person who was defeated by Mike in a student body election in college many years ago.  This guy was so impressed with the way Mike treated him during the election and throughout the year that followed that now he wants to do anything he can to help Mike win.  I like a guy who treats his opponents right.

And about those opponents – I DEEPLY respect each of them for all of the hard work they are doing, and their willingness to put themselves on the line to serve us.  I have spoken with each of them and listened to their messages.   While they each bring certain strengths to their campaigns, I truly believe that Mike is the best man for the job.

So go to his website.  Sign up to be a volunteer.  I happen to know that the volunteer coordinator will really appreciate it.  😉

 

3 Responses to “The Big Announcement”

  1. janae Says:

    Good luck! He sounds like a great guy. (Seriously, he does.) Seeing as we’re good friends with the Bennetts, I don’t think I’ll be joining ya. 😉 But this should definitely make for a heated election!

  2. Jessica Says:

    After you said that there was going to be a big press conference I kept watching the news at noon to see it (George was too sick for preschool, I hope Jacob still got to go), but I never saw anything on it. So then I went online to see the big announcement. Stan and I are planning on going to the meeting on Friday in American Fork, will you be there?

  3. mommyoffive Says:

    Jessica,

    The cameras were there, but apparently the powers that be thought that all of the cops and robbers action yesterday was bigger news. 😉 I don’t know if I’ll be there Friday or not. I’d like to, it just depends on how busy I am.


Leave a Reply

