Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Blogging by Proxy February 17, 2010

Filed under: 406 — mommyoffive @ 9:35 pm

You may have noticed that my blogging has greatly diminished as of late.  This would be because I have been crazy busy.  And crazy.  But that’s nothing new.

But I wouldn’t want to let my 3.2 regular readers down in their quest for updates of my life, which is why I was so thrilled when my friend Mindy wrote this post.  Just read it and pretend like I wrote the first half.  (Thanks, Mindy.)

I do have a bit to add, of course.  As you can see from the festive table top, we were indeed at a Mexican restaurant.  So Mexican, in fact, that about half of us couldn’t understand the menu and had NO IDEA what we were ordering.  It made for a very exciting eating experience.  Do you see Pam, the beautiful girl in the front left corner of the group shot at the table?  She thought she was ordering light.  She ended up with not one, but two huge plates of food.  It was hi.lar.i.ous!  Luckily, all of the food was delicious, so we all loved whatever it was that we ate.  I now have a new favorite restaurant!

Next, I have been avoiding getting a haircut for the past four years.  I decided that it costs too much money, takes too much time, and let’s face it – I’ll never look like Angelina Jolie, no matter who does my hair.  Sarah has just been trimming it up for me occasionally.  She does a great job, but looking at my picture makes me think that maybe it’s time to go back to a professional.  If any of you out there know any miracle workers for hair, let me know.  I would like to find someone who will make me look totally glamorous and non-frumpy.  But I’m not willing to spend more than five minutes on my hair on any given day.  And the use of any type of hair product just confuses me.  And I rarely have more than a simple comb at my disposal.  Sometimes I can’t even find a comb.  Basically, I just think that hair is an evil invention and I usually try to pretend like I don’t have any.  Hmmm…maybe I won’t get a haircut after all.

In other news…

In honor of the Olympics, the girls and I went to Soldier Hollow and skied the 5K Olympic trail.  Except that we didn’t ski that particular trail on purpose.  We were lost.  They really need to improve their signage.  I need to improve my falling skills.  Although my high speed face plants are second to none!

Remember how I used to whine about how terrifying it was to teach Sarah to drive?  Daniel is worse.  Much, much worse.  Oh, the humanity!

And finally, this year I have been helping our jr. high with its re-accreditation process.  Today was our final step – we had to take a picture of everyone on the committee.  A picture.  Seriously?

 

2 Responses to “Blogging by Proxy”

  1. janae Says:

    My cousin is an amazing stylist (trained in top schools, worked in huge salons in California) and if a miracle is possible, she could do it. She actually cuts from her apartment in Provo since she’s now a stay-at-home mom, so she’s affordable. Anyway, if you do decide to go the professional route and are interested, email me and I’ll get ya her number.

    • nickerdoo Says:

      I know a great stylist, I love how she texturizes! The only catch is you have to come to Seattle, so put all your politicing, schooling, and mommying aside and get up here.


Leave a Reply

