Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Happy Easter Bunny Day! April 4, 2010

Filed under: 406 — mommyoffive @ 9:01 pm

Every year our city puts on an awesome Easter egg hunt for the wee ones.  And when I say awesome, I mean AWESOME!  The sports park is divided up into sections – one field per age group, the Easter Bunny himself makes an appearance, and brightly colored Easter eggs filled with candy and prizes are everywhere.  While our children have never won any of the major prizes, they have always had a blast trying.

Before I continue, I must explain this post’s title.  Easter is a very sacred holiday for us, and on Easter Sunday we try to focus on the atonement and resurrection of our Savior.  Because of this, we have asked the Easter Bunny to please come the day before, so that the children can have the best of both worlds.  Easter Bunny fun on Saturday, and a special spiritual feast on Easter Sunday.  Except that now we have teenagers, who like to mock the spiritual feast.  But at least I try.

Back to my story…

On this particular Easter Bunny day, I awoke to the sound of hail pounding on our house.  The Easter Bunny was going to have to hide the eggs inside this year.  I showered, the Easter Bunny hid the eggs, and Todd and I debated on whether or not we should wake the kids up.  That’s right, our children do not wake up at 5:00 a.m. on special holidays, choosing instead to sleep in.  It’s the one thing we’ve done right as parents.

We decided to let them sleep, waking them up just in time to throw on some clothes and head out for the city Easter egg hunt.  It was cold and soggy, but there were eggs to be found and they would not be deterred.  Once there, we split up into teams.  I took Bitsy to the baby field, Todd took the Jakester to the preschool field, Daniel took Joshua to the 7-8 year old field, and Emma headed off to her field all by herself.  It was the best we could do.  Sarah had to work, by the way, so she missed all of the fun.

The children were all lined up at their respective fields.  Parents were reminded NOT to charge out on the fields with their little ones, the countdown began, and…CHAOS!!!!  Within minutes it was over.  Hundreds of children were happily examining the contents of their eggs.

Joshua won a bike!  An awesome green bike with those cool trick bar thingies!  Go, Joshua!

Then Jakob won a bike!  A sparkly red bike! Go, Jakob!

Meanwhile, Elisabeth was being interviewed by a newspaper reporter.   She may not have won a prize, but she was clearly the cutest baby there.  (You have to click on the second picture to see her.)

And Emma…didn’t win anything.  But she did try to get Jakob to give her his bike.

All in all, it was a very good morning for the James family.

We returned home, where the kiddos participated in Easter egg hunt #2.  Even Bitsy got in on the action.

Then they spent some time checking out the goods the Easter Bunny had left.

And then….we were off to egg hunt #3 at Grandma and Grandpa’s house.  By now, Jakob was a pro.

Joshua, on the other hand, was losing his touch.  (Hey, Josh – it’s in the tree.)

Bitsy had had enough of eggs and bunnies, and chose to stay inside and munch on a graham cracker instead.

Don’t worry.  She didn’t go without candy.  She broke into her brother’s stash this morning.

And now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to help two little boys write thank you notes for their cool new bikes.

(This is what happens when I ask Daniel to take a cute picture of the boys on their bikes.)

 

2 Responses to “Happy Easter Bunny Day!”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Wow, that is amazing that they both won bikes. I was at my parent’s house today and they happened to get a paper. As I looked through it I saw the pin and knew it was your baby! So awesome!

  2. Mindy Says:

    I can’t believe they won the bikes! I seriously debated going that morning because it was so yucky and Russ wasn’t home. And I thought the only reason why I would go was because Corbin and Cody both desperatly needed new bikes – but then they would probably just get a coupon to Burger King or something and I would have dragged them out for nothing but 4eggs. So I can’t believe they won! Being a good mom pays off, maybe we should have gone. (In the end, we didn’t go because I couldn’t figure out how I was going to have all three kids on different fields and try to keep track of them).


Leave a Reply

