Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

In Which Dozens of Delightful Duckies Defeat the Doldrums July 25, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 7:30 pm

Hi All.  I’m back.  I threw caution and the doctor’s orders to the wind and am now feeling and sleeping much better.  Several of you correctly surmised that I had surgery.   I’ll let you in on all of the gory details later, but here’s a preview:  Doctors are meanie-faced liars, I am not Jack Bauer when it comes to throwing off anesthesia, and my children have all inherited my total and complete lack of sympathy.  They have also come up with a whole new set of jokes at my expense.

On to the latest news.

The munchkins have spent the past two weeks in swimming and/or diving lessons, and Friday was graduation day, baby!  Mind you, we are all water bugs, and the kidlets are already very good swimmers, but what kind of mom would I be if I didn’t spend two weeks each summer baking in the sizzling sun while the offspring attempt to refine their skills?

This year, Emma decided to take a diving class instead of being on the swim team.  (What’s that?  No 6:30 a.m. practices?  I’m in!)  She can now do all kinds of fancy twists and spins and flips before hitting the water – sometimes even on purpose.  Joshua can swim all the way across the pool using several different strokes and is itching to join that diving class.  The Jakester was put into a class with two other equally adorable and fearless little boys, who can all now go down the GREAT BIG slide and off the diving board all by themselves.  They are still working on how to stand in line, though.   Although I tried my hardest, I didn’t get any really great action shots, but here’s a fun one of the Jakester on the slide.  At least he didn’t come down backwards.

And here is the aftermath of graduation day:

Now on to yesterday – which was almost, almost as good as Christmas.  It was in fact, the 24th of July and our city’s Fiesta Days celebration!

It started out with a genuine redneck parade, complete with tractors, horses, rodeo queens, a baby goat, marching bands, baseball teams, and two bagpipe bands with stylin’ kilts.  Have I mentioned that I LOVE parades?  The more low-tech, the better.  In fact, I loved it sooooo much that not even the “Class of 90” reunion float with all of those old-looking people could dampen my spirits.   Because really, I can’t possibly look as old as they did, can I?  Running off to cover up all of my mirrors now.

We then headed home for some lunch and a little R&R before heading back out to the duck race.  Oh, how I love the duck race.

Now, if you’ve never been to a duck race, you are MISSING OUT.  Each year, the local fire department drops thousands of little rubber duckies into the river, and then those little duckies bob their way down the river to the finish line, which is right by our house.  We eagerly gather under the bridge with the crowd of spectators, anxiously awaiting the first glimpse of the winning duck.  We wait, and wait, and a few kids “fall” into the river.  Then we wait some more.  The tension is palpable.  Suddenly, a shout is heard from the bridge above.  “I see a duck!”  Then everyone is on their feet, straining to see the tiny yellow duckie making it’s way down river as fast as the current can carry it.  This year’s winning duck managed to remain upright on it’s voyage, which totally added to the awesomeness of the event.

Unfortunately, our ducks didn’t win.  Again.  No worries though, next year I’m going to ask if I can take my ducks home and put them through a rigorous training schedule before the race.  Do you think the firefighters will say yes?

After an hour and a half of watching ducks float down the river (I kid you not – it’s riveting), we returned home for a barbecue and Funnel Cake Fest 2010.   I can still feel my arteries clogging, and all of the sugar won’t be out of my system for days, but they were Y-U-M-M-Y.  So very yummy.

And finally, it was time for the fireworks spectacular, put on by Daniel and the city.  And really, I can’t possibly think of a better end to a day than fireworks, can you?

 

Leave a Reply

