Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Daniel Made the News Today September 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 10:41 pm

You can read about it here.

Some tasty tidbits the story left out:

The truck hit him, threw him, ran over him again, and spun him around on the road.  From all appearances, the driver didn’t even slow down.

Yes, his leg was broken.  Really, really broken.  And the skin on the inside of leg was worn off to the bone.  (They originally thought the bone had broken through, but the surgeon decided it was just major road rash.)

He now has a titanium rod running almost the entire length of his femur.

He also bears a striking resemblance to King Tut with all of the mummy wrapping they did on his other wounds.

He is on lots and lots of painkillers.

I think I want some, too.

BUT…

There was no internal bleeding and his spine is fine.  Everyone is amazed that his injuries weren’t much, much worse.

My neighbors were AMAZING.  My children were taken care of, more dinners have been offered than we can accept, and many, many thoughts and prayers have been sent our way.

Daniel has had a steady stream of friends in and out of his hospital room all day long.

We are truly blessed.

 

4 Responses to “Daniel Made the News Today”

  1. janae Says:

    Oh, Jennifer, I am so sorry!!! I can’t believe that article. Or your added “tid bits.” My question is, was this chick on her cell phone? Because what else would make you so completely out of it?! Poor Daniel! 😦

  2. Jessica Says:

    Wow. Poor guy. I’m glad the rest of him is ok–that it wasn’t even worse. That is absolutely crazy.

  3. Mindy Says:

    That is so crazy. Glad to hear there were no head injuries and that it wasn’t worse. And yeah, she had to have been texting or something – she didn’t see three people crossing the road!? So sorry! PLEASE let me know if I can help you and we will keep him in our prayers.

    • Nickersnick Says:

      I am sooo sorry! One of my biggest fear is getting a call that my child has been seriously hurt. I hope he heals quickly and that YOU recover quickly!


Leave a Reply

