Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Help! October 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 6:50 pm

Ruh-roh!  I feel a cold coming on.  Maybe even a flu.  And I know that I’ve said this before, but this time I really mean it.  I.  CAN.  NOT. afford to get sick right now.  I have a baptism to plan, a book fair to run, a campaign to win, and doctor’s appointments to attend.  So…many…doctors.

It all started last night.  I was sitting in Joshua’s pack meeting (that’s pacK, not PAC) feeling just fine, when all of the sudden my molecules started to ache.  Every.  Single.  One of them.  Then my head starting feeling kind of buzzy.  And not in a good way.  The noise of a thousand boys echoed and swished in my ears.  I no longer felt empathy for the poor pack leader trying to control them.  I just wanted my fuzzy blankie.

Once we escaped the pack meeting, I returned home and began mounting my defense against the oncoming illness.  I poured peroxide into my ears. I know, I know, but desperate times call for desperate measures.  This morning I put Tea Tree Oil in my shower.  For breakfast, I had garlic, mega-doses of vitamin C, and echinachea, all mixed in with butter, spread on toast, and washed down with chlorophyll.  It was deLISH!

I spent 20 minutes outside in the sun, avoiding housework producing vitamin D.

And now?  I feel no worse than I felt last night, but no better, either.  I can feel the nasty little viruses plotting their next move.  And I am out of ideas.

So tell me, what else can I do to fend off this cold?  What are your favorite voo-doo cures?  Because I will try them all.  I will even send you pictures for the right price.

 

7 Responses to “Help!”

  1. Jessica Says:

    I wish I had some great ideas for you; I usually just suffer through it. I had a cold all last week though and it is amazing how off you feel just having a cold.

  2. janae Says:

    So when my dad became a vp at byu he heard about one of the professors that was doing studies on colloidal silver curing aids. The guy apparently found that colloidal silver kills an incredible amount of viruses. So he created a company to sell his stuff. This is the stuff I use:

    http://www.solutionsie.com/products/flu_and_cold.php

    Freaking expensive. And freaking awesome. In the end I think it balances out price wise with the money I would have used on cold medicine, cough drops,etc. I still occasionally get colds, but more often than not, if I catch the symptoms early enough, I can avoid them.

    Once I have a cold, I like Zicam. It’s at walmart.

    GOOD LUCK!!

    • mommyoffive Says:

      Hey – I’ve always wanted to try colloidal silver! Now’s my chance. Although I just went out for a three mile run in the freezing wind, and I’m actually feeling a bit better.

  3. Kellie Says:

    I don’t know any cures for a cold, but thanks for providing me with a good laugh today. I’m the primary counselor over Cub Scouts and I’m pretty sure I’ve spelled it “PAC” meeting on more than one occasion… Is it November 3rd yet?? : ) Hope you feel better soon!!

    • Nickersnick Says:

      okay so i have one for you….xylitol. you can find it easiest in trident chewing gum. supposed to help with ear and upper respiratory infections (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xylitol). good luck and i cant wait to see my pic of you chewing lots and lots of gum!

      • mommyoffive Says:

        How on earth did you find that out? I had no idea xylitol had so many uses. It’s been added to tomorrow’s shopping list. 😉

  4. ulyana Says:

    Hi Jen-

    I certainly am having wonderful time checking out your website. You are an amazing writer! I love your stories. Even the ones about your cold… Sorry.. I hope you are feeling all better now, it’s been awhile since your post about getting sick.
    But if, or should I say, when you get sick with cold again try this: 1) a gallon of water a day. It washes out those cold germs quicker. 2) my favorite magic potion (the more the better): hot water, lemon juice, honey, and a pinch of Cayenne pepper.
    Good luck with your wonderful and busy life. Love, Ulya.


Leave a Reply

