Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Season’s Sneezings December 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 5:55 pm

Pardon my absence last week.  I was snuggling on the couch with some very cute, very sick, little ones.  Believe me when I say there are not. enough.  tissues in the world to deal with this cold.

Bitsy is feeling much better now.  The Jakester is still totally wiped out.  Bitsy is using this to her advantage.  She has spent the day stealing all of Jakob’s toys and beating him over the head with Christmas presents.  Repeatedly.

Unfortunately, it turns out that a week long of having snot rubbed all over you, being constantly coughed on by wee ones, and sharing drinks filled with backwash because the aforementioned wee ones won’t let you remove them from your lap long enough to get your own drink will make you sick, too.

So now I.  want.  to. die.

But I can’t, because Christmas is right around the corner, so I’ll catch you up on what we did before we were sick, instead.

(I know what you’re thinking again – Sheesh, are those people ever NOT sick?  This really has been an atypical year for us.  Usually we’re the world’s healthiest family.  Seriously – I can count the number of ear infections my kids have had combined on the fingers of one hand.  I had a voodoo curse theory going on for a while, but then I realized that many of my neighbors were also having an unusually bad year, illness-wise.  So either my entire neighborhood has fallen under an evil voodoo curse, or it’s just been a bad germ year.  Occam’s Razor, people.)

Anyway, before the dreaded illness struck, we…

  • Went to see the lights at Pond Town.

  • Visited with Santa.

  • Participated in a hilariously chaotic Nativity.

Bitsy was horribly miscast as an angel.

Here is Josh, the irreverent shepherd, making bunny ears on a wise man.

And there goes our cute neighbor, making a break for it with baby Jesus.  Run Sarah, RUN!

  • Went to Joshua’s 2nd grade Christmas program.  Here he is getting ready for his “cool” song.

  • And best of all, celebrated Emma’s birthday!

She chose an ice-skating party at the Peaks Arena again this year.  I had reserved a party table for her (they set up party tables cafeteria style in the passageway between the two ice rinks), but when we got there, the desk clerk said, “I’m sorry, we ran out of room for you, so we put you in the Olympic Room instead.”  That’s right, we got our very own, fully mirrored, private party room which had previously been used by Olympic athletes.  How cool is that?

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to rescue Jakob from Bitsy the Christmas Monster and slather Vick’s Vap-o-rub all over my body.  Simultaneously.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

