Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Ice Castles February 12, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 9:42 pm

No, I’m not talking about the movie.  But did you know that there was a 2010 remake of it?  I didn’t either, until I googled it just now.  I was trying to figure out how to spell Mikhail Baryshnikov, because I was convinced that he starred in the original.  But it turns out that I was thinking of White Nights instead.

I was fascinated with Mikhail Baryshnikov in the eighties.  In fact, I was fascinated by all things Russian in the eighties.  They made the coolest bad guys, because they were all beautiful, talented, intelligent, disciplined, athletic (seriously – all Russians were Olympic worthy), and I just knew that deep down inside of their cold, communist hearts, a very large amount of good could be found.   (Now that I actually know several people from the old USSR, I can testify to the fact that they really are beautiful, talented, intelligent, disciplined, and very generous and kind hearted.  I’m not sure that they would all qualify for the Olympics, though.)

I can even speak Russian.  No really, I can.  I took Russian classes for three years in high school and one semester in college.  I even won a state-wide Russian poetry reading competition.  My accent is very convincing.  I can still remember some of my most used phrases, like:

“I don’t understand.”

“I don’t know.”

“Huh?”

And some VERY important phrases, such as:

“He has beautiful muscles.”

“He has big, beautiful muscles.”

“Mikhail Baryshnikov has very big, beautiful muscles.”

Unfortunately, that one semester in college did away with my potential career as a double-agent.  As it turns out, the ability to describe large muscles in Russian does not translate into an A.

Where was I?

Oh yes, the Midway Ice Castles.  We went to see them last weekend.  They were really cool.  (Get it?  Cool?  Hardee har har!)


You’ll notice that in many of my pictures, the munchkins are peacefully walking away from the camera.

There is a reason for this.

Whenever I tried to pose them, this is would happen:

And this:

More of the same:

It really shouldn’t have been that hard to get them all smiling at the camera at the same time.  I was even missing one child.  (Daniel seemed to think that a Superbowl weekend was more important than a trip through a frozen wonderland.)

I totally think this picture looks like a record cover.  (Just ignore the random people in the background.)

Do they even make record covers anymore?

In summary, the Ice Castles are amazing, my children are rotten, and Mikhail Baryshnikov continues to be one of the hottest men on the planet.

Off to watch White Nights

 

4 Responses to “Ice Castles”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Wow, the ice castles look amazing. I remember hearing about them before, I so want to go!

  2. Ulyana Thompson Says:

    I had no idea you spoke Russian! The castels are way cool! I wonder how in the world they made them.
    P.S. Tell Sarah she is gorgeous. I miss YW, and I miss Emma!!

  3. Mindy Says:

    I too LOVE Whitle Nights! AND I was obsessed with Mikhail! There is a reason why we’re friends. DId you already watch it? We should totally have a movie night, seriously. (And did you know that Russia was my first international trip? Loved it. Maybe we should plan a trip and you could use all your Russian skills.)

    Oh and I love your pics of the ice castles! I have now figured out what we are doing for presidents day! And yes, that is TOTALLY an album cover.

  4. Mindy Says:

    ignore the spelling. i was typing too fast


Leave a Reply

