Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Conflicted February 17, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 12:16 pm

The past few days have been gloriously warm.  Yesterday morning the munchkins and I spent some time out in the yard – without being bundled up like Eskimos.  In fact, I was wearing shorts.  (Don’t worry about the neighbors – they work all day and thus did not have to endure the sight of my blindingly white legs.) I pruned rose bushes, Jakob caught a bug (which he then carried around in a blanket like a baby for the rest of the day) (in a jar – I just realized I should clarify), and Elisabeth stepped in dog poop.  (It happens.)  It was a beautiful morning, and I found myself pining for Summer.

But last night Winter came roaring back in, and I woke up to the most gorgeous sight:  white mountains framed by the pink-orange glow of the rising sun with lacy, snow covered trees standing silently next to the river.   It was one of those moments when I really, really wished that I had even the tiniest bit of skill with a camera.  Plus, the girls and I are headed up to Sundance for some cross-country skiing on Monday afternoon, and I’ve been keeping my fingers crossed for new snow.  So maybe I’m not ready for winter to end, after all.

Bitsy has been refusing to sleep in her bed.  Instead, she bed hops.  Every night she wanders around, checking everyone’s room to see whose bed looks the most comfortable.  I’ve been thinking that I should put an end to this.

But this morning, I found her snuggled up next to Jakob, with his arms wrapped protectively around her.   It was precious.  (Don’t grow up, little munchkins – I need my babies!)

I’ve been watching Off the Map.  I know that I shouldn’t, but I can’t help myself.  It is a very frustrating show.  I alternate between loving it and hating it about every thirty seconds.  This is what my viewing experience is like:

(Picture me curled up in a ball on the couch underneath my jacket because I’m too lazy to go upstairs and retrieve my Snuggy which has now been hidden from my children due to Snuggy abuse.  I am shouting at the TV.)

“That is the most ridiculous thing I have ever seen!!”

“Ahhh, look at the pretty people.”

“How medically inaccurate can you get!!!”

“I like waterfalls.”

“Do they have first-graders writing this stuff?!?!”

“Mmmmm….Dr. Keeton.”

“My brain cells are going into convulsions over the sheer stupidity of that last scene!”

“Tropical flowers are pretty.”

It’s a very difficult program for me to watch.  But it’s pretty.

The above examples are not what I am conflicted about.

Oh no, today’s conflict is far more serious.

It’s like, seriously serious.

I just turned on the beginning of Survivor while I was eating breakfast, and was delighted thrilled in absolute ecstasy to see Boston Rob back in the game.  I clapped!!!  I cheered!!!  I almost spilled my cereal!!!   Boston Rob is the best suhvivuh evah!!!  He’s cute!  And lovable!  And manly!  And he lurves his wife!  Which makes him sexy!

Happy dance happy dance happy dance.

And then…

Russell stepped off the helicopter, and I threw up a little bit in my mouth.

And now I’m not sure if I’ll even be able to watch Survivor this season.

 

Leave a Reply

