Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Fruit Woot! February 22, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 11:15 am

This is Joshua.

He is a vegetarian.  Has been for a few years now.  I’m not sure how that happened, given my long-standing love affair with steak, but I have to admire the little guy for taking a stand.  (Although I must point out that he will make an exception for hot dogs and chicken nuggets, which I guess you can argue aren’t really meat, anyway.  It’s too bad for him that I consider hot dogs and chicken nuggets to be only a tiny step up from feeding your children nuclear waste, and therefore only buy them about twice a year, and then only if I’m in a really good mood.)  (Lest you think that I am a total hot dog snob, I also have to confess that I think they are delicious.  On those rare occasions when I do buy them, I can eat an entire package all by myself.  It isn’t pretty.)

Anyway, the kid goes absolutely nuts over produce.  This is good news for me, because it means that every Saturday morning at the crack of dawn when I go to pick up my basket from my food co-op, I have a happy little helper right by my side.  I’m planning on volunteering at the co-op this Saturday, which means that we will have to be there by six a.m.  You would have thought that I told Joshua that we were going to Disneyland by his reaction when I broke the news to him.   He was actually cheering.

Last Saturday, he wanted me to take a picture of him with his conquests.

See that pomelo he is lovingly cradling?  Little did it know it was about to be eaten.  A mango was his next victim.  “Peel it faster, Mom, before anyone else gets up!” he ordered.  (Although Emma was also up with us.  She was making her weekly list of unusual veggies so that she could email it to her friends.  Did you notice that bag of stuff that looks like ginger?  It’s actually Jerusalem Artichoke.)

Then he turned the pomelo peel into a helmet.  And a crab.  And an Imperial Snowwalker thingie.

Then he helped me put some of the fruit into baskets.  Baskets of citrus make both of us happy.  (Wrinkles in tablecloth and tiny hand trying to sneak out a lime courtesy of Bitsy.)

Next, he commanded me to make some jam.  Jacob and Bitsy helped with the clean up.

They were all in a state of nirvana when we had strawberry waffles for breakfast on Sunday.   Mmmm…out-of-focus strawberry waffles.

Here is my problem.

Did you notice those nasty yams in the picture at the top of this post?  Josh wants to eat them.  I do not like yams.  They are orange and gooey.  I tried to appease him by turning some into brownies yesterday (actually, Todd made the brownies while I went skiing with the girls), but alas, it didn’t work.

“Mom, I want real yams,” he said.

I’m going to have to suck it up and bake some yams.

At least I don’t ever have to worry about getting him to eat his veggies.

 

3 Responses to “Fruit Woot!”

  1. Aimee Tucker Says:

    This is my sister in-laws site and my other sister in-laws recipe. It is better than brownies and Josh will feel like he ate the yams. Alas it is only as good for you as bronwnies. Check it out. http://melissasladecookbook.blogspot.com/2010/11/sweet-potato-casserole.html

  2. mommyoffive Says:

    Aimee,
    I think the brownies might actually be healthier. 😉
    This recipe looks delicious (I can’t believe I just typed that). I’ll try making it tomorrow.
    Thanks!

  3. Alice Gold Says:

    Oh please don’t come to my blog and judge me on my post from today. It was a doozee. I came over from Mormon Mommy Blogs and I just wanted to tell you that I love the blog title. I also love the blog. I also love homemade strawberry jam. I haven’t made it in a long time since I don’t have any room in my freezer and my deep freeze electrocuted two of my children about a year ago and hasn’t been replaced. CJane is my new favorite blogger. What else do you want to know? Man, I need to get off this computer. I will be back, but hopefully next time I will refrain from leaving you such a crazy comment.


Leave a Reply

