Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Breakfast Boo-yah! March 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 4:57 pm

Todd’s mother and her sisters have decided to put together a family recipe book.  While this is a cool concept in theory, and I am sure that I will love the finished product, right now the whole thing is a pain in the rumpus.

I love to cook.

I do not love to follow recipes.  This used to drive one of my neighbors crazy.  She would ask me for a recipe, and I’d say something like, “Well, you throw in a glop of x and mix it with a handful of y and add some z until it tastes right…”  at which point she would start twitching and muttering something about how precision is a lost art.

Anyway.

I really do not love to have to track down the recipes that I don’t follow and then painstakingly type them into a computer.

I stalled until Todd’s parents called and yelled at him because we were the only family that hadn’t contributed to the book yet.  Then I whined until he agreed to type them in for me.  My whining abilities are second to none.

But just to prove that I am, indeed, capable of typing out a recipe, I have decided to share one with you today that was life-changing for me.  I give you…..

Breakfast Cereal

Seriously.  It’s amazing.  You know how when you eat a bowl of Cheerios for breakfast you are hungry enough to gnaw your own arm off just a few hours later?  This cereal will easily keep you going until lunchtime.  And it’s yummy.  As in seriously delicious.  Delectable, even.

On with the show.

Start with these guys.

Mix 7 cups of oats, 1 cup of wheat bran, and 1 cup of wheat germ together in a large bowl.  (I have recently been reading that wheat bran might not be good for you.  This makes me sad.  But not sad enough to omit the wheat bran yet.  I’ll have to do more research first.)

Next, you’ll need these guys:  (Pretend like you didn’t notice the Wal-mart honey.  It probably isn’t even real honey.  But we were having a honey emergency, and Todd was at Wal-mart anyway.  Desperate times, people.  Please rest assured that I have since purchased a lovely jar of raw honey from the nice old farmer up the road.  And if you could convince the sun to come out so that the bees could emerge and start making more honey, I’d really appreciate it.)

Blend 1/4 cup honey, 1/4 cup brown sugar (the original recipe calls for 1/2 cup of each, but that would be WAY too much sugar first thing in the morning), 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 1/2 cup water, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 teaspoon nutmeg, and 1 teaspoon of salt together in a separate bowl.

Then, mix the dry ingredients and the wet ingredients together.  At this point, it will smell delicious.  But it will not taste delicious yet.  Ask me how I know.

Spread it onto a cookie sheet and pop into a 275 degree oven for fifteen minutes.

Take the camera away from Jakob.

Take the cereal out of the oven and give it a good stir.  Pop it back in for another 15 minutes.  (Ignore the wonky color in this picture.)

Take it out and stir it again, and this time add a cup of chopped nuts.  We like pecans.

Put it back in the oven.  Bake for 15 minutes, stir.  Bake for another 15 minutes.  You will want it to bake for a total of one hour.  In the meantime, you will need to rescue your camera from Jakob again.

Once the cereal is finished baking, you can add some dried fruit – in this case, blueberries. (That’s WAY too many blueberres, by the way.  And I never thought I’d say that.)

Once it has completely cooled, pour it into an airtight container.

And now for the most important part.  I am not even kidding about this…

Disguise it.

Seriously.  Because if you don’t, your kids will descend upon it like ravenous hordes and then you will have to hold a special family meeting where you will discuss how it is inappropriate to eat an entire container full of cereal in one evening and then you will have to set new cereal eating rules.  Your children will call you a cereal Nazi.

This is all hypothetical, of course.

You can find a printable version here.  Enjoy!

 

3 Responses to “Breakfast Boo-yah!”

  1. Mindy Says:

    That sounds absolutely fabulous! We LOVE that kind of cereal (the kind that is an actual meal, instead of just a tide-you-over snack). I am going to have to try it! And I love your creative posts, by the way, you always know how to make the ordinary much more fun. 🙂

  2. REDBARN Says:

    I just wanted to let you know you were our winner for the Red Barn pie. Email me at chelsea@southridgefarms.com for details on how to claim your prize!

  3. ulyana Says:

    i am going to make this granola for sure! Thanks for the recipe!


Leave a Reply

