Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

‘Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all. June 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 9:57 pm

They were perfect.  They really were.

Against all odds, I stumbled upon an adorable pair of white capris for only eight dollars.  An adorable pair of white capris for the low, low price of $8.00 that actually fit me and didn’t make me look like a praying mantis.

Have I mentioned that they were very white?  Very, very white.  White enough to make my legs look almost merely pale, instead of the blinding shade of white they usually are.  (By the way, they are only blindingly white in the middle of summer when I have achieved my deepest level of tan.  In the middle of winter, my legs are so white that the English language does not contain words to adequately describe them.  It’s sad, really.)

Anyway…

These capris were cute.  And white.  And I wore them exactly once.

And then…

I washed them.  And dried them.  With a tube of bright red lipstick.

And now my cute, white, non-albino-praying mantis leg-looking capris look like they have developed a nasty case of the measles.

I’ve tried:

Resolve

Spray-n-Wash

Dawn Dishwashing Detergent and a Toothbrush

Cornstarch

Hairspray

And washing them three different times with three different water temperatures.

Alas, it has all been in vain.

Goodbye, my cute polka-dotted once-white capris that allowed my freakishly long blindingly white legs to look almost normal.  I may regret the way we ended, but I will never regret what we had.

 

5 Responses to “‘Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.”

  1. Alice Gold Says:

    Don’t give up yet. If you haven’t dried them in the dryer there still may be help. Soak them overnight in a hot soak of two cups of clorox and a cup of bleach.

  2. mommyoffive Says:

    Aren’t bleach and Clorox the same thing? I did try soaking them in bleach, but only for about 15 minutes. And sadly, they went into the dryer before I noticed the lipstick. 😦


Leave a Reply

