Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

The Longevity of Fruit Leather (or Lack Thereof) June 16, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 2:16 pm

Emma headed off to her very first Girls’ Camp (sponsored by our church) this week.  She has been looking forward to this for a very long time, and spent last week packing, organizing, and re-packing.  I didn’t have to help her at all.  I almost felt guilty about my lack of assistance.

No, not almost.  Totally.  My baby was packing for a week away at camp and she did not need my help.

It was terrible.

So I did what any good mother would do.  I decided to make camping snacks.  Strawberry fruit leather, to be exact.

Mmmm….fruit leather.

It smelled delicious as it dried in the oven.  Every so often one of my offspring would crack open the oven door and peel off just a tiny bit of the fruit leather, just to see if it was done yet.  I may have “checked” it a few times, too.

The result?  See for yourself.  This is what the pan of fruit leather looked like BEFORE it was even finished drying.  You’ll notice that the leathery yumminess is already halfway gone.

(Those icky spots you can see are where the kids pulled off the leather before it was finished drying.  They ate it anyway. 

Also, I apologize for the bad picture color.  I was too lazy to fix it.  It looked much better in real life.)

When the leather was finished, I pulled it out of the oven and left it on the table to cool for just a few minutes while I went upstairs to brush my teeth.  I was planning on wrapping it up as soon as I came back downstairs.

Except.

When I came back downstairs, the pan was empty.  Barren.  Desolate.  Devoid of strawberry yumminess.  In the 2.5 minutes it took me to run upstairs and brush my teeth, the munchkins had eaten every last drop of fruit leather.

According to a very informative site I found on the web, fruit leather can be stored for up to one month at room temperature, 3 months in a refrigerator, or one year in a freezer.

Or 30 seconds on the James’ kitchen table.

 

Leave a Reply

