Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

The Triumph of the Tortoise June 17, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 1:01 pm

I did not want to go running this morning.  (How many blog posts have I started out that way now?)

I was supposed to go for a long run, since I’ll be too busy to run tomorrow (politics politics politics), and I’ll be taking my “day of rest” very seriously on Sunday.

But I just couldn’t bring myself to do a long run.

So I…

snuggled under the covers for an extra thirty minutes,

and ate corn flakes for breakfast (not exactly the breakfast of champions, but I made cornflake chicken for dinner last night and then had to go to a meeting before I had time to eat it, so I NEEDED cornflakes this morning),

and then snuggled up under another blanket while I read a chapter of this month’s book club selection (Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand – I’m hosting this month – my house – Wednesday at 7 –  be there or be square.),

and then discovered that my phone battery was almost dead (What – no Runkeeper?!  The horror!),

and finally, strapped on my huaraches and made my way to the trail.

I was just over a mile into my run when I saw her.  Runner girl.  A tanned, toned, I-pod strapped to the arm, hard core runner had entered the trail about an eighth of a mile ahead of me.  Her ponytail was jaunty, her form was perfect, her running outfit was super cute.

I was wearing an odd conglomeration of cut off sweats, an old PTA shirt, and Em’s too-small baseball cap.  (“Mom, you should really try to look less conspicuous when you run,” Sarah told me a few days ago.  Sweetie, this IS less conspicuous.)

“Someday,” I thought to myself, “I want to be as cool as runner girl.”

I briefly wondered how long I would be able to keep her in my sights as I schlepped along, and then I got distracted when I inhaled a puff of cotton.  I inhale lots of cotton as I’m running these days.  Cottonwood trees must be Mother Nature’s idea of a practical joke, but I’m not laughing.  I’m too busy hacking up cotton balls out of my lungs.  And sneezing.  And sweeping cotton off my porch.

I saw a documentary once about a man who had a tree growing in his lungs.  Seriously.  That’s totally going to happen to me.

Then I decided that I needed to change the song in my head, since I didn’t dare turn on the music on my phone since the battery was almost dead and you can only sing “Pretty Rave Girl” to yourself so many times before you start to get dizzy.  I settled on “I Can Do It” by Baby Bop.  I’m not sure how that happened.

Then I made schmoozing plans for the fundraiser I’m attending tonight.  I love schmoozing.  I’m good at it.  I can schmooze people without them even knowing they’ve been schmoozed.  That’s right – I’m a stealth schmoozer.  🙂

Then I wondered why the river has been running so much LOWER lately.  I thought it was supposed to be UP in June.  It boggles the mind, it really does.  Especially when the mind is just struggling to keep breathing without inhaling the cotton of a million trees.

And then…

THEN…

I noticed something.

I was only a few feet away from runner girl.

I could actually hear HER huffing and puffing and choking on cotton seeds.

And then…

I PASSED HER!!!!!

Like she was standing still!

It was AWESOME!!!!

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is why I am glad that I decided to go running today.

 

Leave a Reply

