Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Marching Into Spring March 25, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 3:46 pm

Why, hello there!  Yes, I am still here.  Barely.  Let me give you some helpful advice:  taking on a high-stress full-time job while at the same time juggling three college classes and six children is a very bad idea.  Very bad.  Don’t do it.

I’m not gonna lie – this winter has been miserable.

BUT….now it is March, my classes are more than halfway over, the campaign is going very well, and the sun is peeking out more and more frequently.

I can do this.

In the meantime, not all has been gloomy.

On St. Patrick’s Day, leprechaun traps mysteriously sprung up throughout the house.  While we weren’t successful in catching any leprechauns, we did manage to get them to drop their candy in the traps in their haste to get away.  (I took some pictures, but I cannot get them to upload.  You’ll just have to believe me when I say the traps were VERY inventive.)

We went snowshoeing under the light of the full moon at Sundance.

The munchkins found a new favorite spot to play along the river.

And on the campaign trail, we have learned to embrace sleep deprivation.

This picture was taken at approximately 7:30 AM.  I had already been in the office for an hour.

This picture was take at approximately 3:00 AM the next day.  There we all are, STILL at work.

This picture was taken at approximately 11:00 PM.  We had just eaten dinner.  You may be wondering why we are laughing so hard.  Let’s just say that several of us had just done something REALLY stupid.  I started it.  I know, you’re shocked.

And yesterday was the Holi Festival!  Did you know that my cute little hometown boasts the largest Festival of Colors in the Western Hemisphere?  It’s true.  Holi is all about embracing variety and welcoming spring.  It’s my kind of holiday.

Yep.  That about sums it up.  Although our local news stations are reporting that there were actually about 80,000 people there.

Sarah and her roomates were there.

So were Emma and I.

She had fun.  Really, she did.

I took some awesome action shots of Em (smiling!) and her friends at the festival, but I used my campaign phone and I can’t figure out how to upload them.  My bad.

We brought some colors home with us so the munchkins could get in on the springtime fun.

Just one more month until my classes are finished.

I think I can I think I can I think I can…..

 

One Response to “Marching Into Spring”

  1. janae Says:

    You are crazy. And awesome. GOOD LUCK!!!!!!

    ps. I’ve missed your posts. 🙂


Leave a Reply

