Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

June 9 – Peeta For the Win June 9, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 9:48 pm

A few months ago, I was contemplating signing up for the Utah Valley Half Marathon.  I thought, and considered, and deliberated, and….spent so much time ruminating that the race sold out.  My bad.

Indecision aside, I was determined to participate.  So I signed up to volunteer.  I made Em sign up with me.

So it was that we arrived at the finish line of the marathon at 5:55 AM this morning.  We were even almost awake.

You may be wondering, “What does one do at the finish line of a marathon at 5:55 AM?”  Let me tell you.

First, we unwrapped medals.  Lots and lots of medals.

Then, we unwrapped all of the toilet paper in the port-a-potties.  No detail is too small at the Utah Valley Marathon.

Then, I bathed myself in hand sanitizer.

Then, I went to work at the aid station.  We filled our tables full of Powerade and water.   This picture was taken at 7:00 AM, and was the last time our tables looked so organized.

The medals table looked pretty good, too.

At approximately 7:06 AM, the half marathon winner ran through the finish line.  He looked exhausted.  But less than a minute later, the 2nd place finisher came through, and he looked like he had just taken a leisurely stroll through the park.  No sweat, no panting – I don’t think he was really human.

Racers continued to trickle in for the next fifteen minutes or so, and then we got SLAMMED.

The next five hours were a continuous blur of Powerade powder, stabbing water containers, and water cup relays.  We were all covered in red and blue Powerade.  My feet are still sticky.  (I highly recommend wearing old flip flops if you are working an aid station.  Regular shoes will be ruined.)

We also got to congratulate 5,000+ awesome runners.  Because marathoners are some seriously nice people.  So are the California Pizza Kitchen people who kept me supplied with pita bread and hummus.  Ummm…..hummus.

After the final runners had limped across the line, the water containers were all collapsed, and the tables were put away, Em and I snuck away to see The Hunger Games.  For the first time.  I know.  We are SO behind the times.   I have to say, I was a bit disappointed in the movie, but even more disappointed in everyone who thinks that Gale is cuter than Peeta. Really, people?  Can you not see those puppy dog eyes?

 

Leave a Reply

