Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

You Can Take Away My Fire, But You’ll Never Get My Strawberry Marshmallows June 17, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 9:24 pm

I have just spent the past four days in Heaven.

And by Heaven, I mean the Nebo Loop.  We *finally* got in our first camping trip of the year.

We found a perfect little spot by Salt Creek.  We had our own private path to the creek, complete with plenty of room to set up chairs and our table.  We also had some wonderful neighbors – a cute robin family and the world’s friendliest squirrel.  The robin family consisted of a mommy robin and a daddy robin and at least three teeny tiny baby robins with great big mouths.  We watched the devoted parents work tirelessly to feed their babies all day, every day.   It made me glad that my children aren’t birds.  The squirrel was a chubby fellow with absolutely no fear.  This morning he walked right up to me and started sniffing my foot.  His cute little head was on my big toe.  I have no idea why.  Maybe he was trying to tell me that I needed a shower.

Due to this year’s extremely dry weather, we couldn’t have a campfire.  Don’t feel too sorry for us, though.  We still found a way to make s’mores.  Where there’s a will, there’s a way.

We thought that four days of camping would be the perfect time to potty train Bizzie.  It didn’t go so well.

We spent lots of time playing games.  Emma’s game of choice is Life, while Joshua is crazy about Spoons (me too), and Jakob LOVES to play Memory, mostly because he can “kick our trash.”  That kid has a mind like a steel trap.

Speaking of steel traps, Em, Josh, and I hiked up the Bear Canyon trail, which is GORGEOUS.  It is also very steep.  By the end of the hike, the kids were starting to rebel, and I felt like the Grand Old Duke of York.  We saw plenty of snakes and deer, but alas, no bears.  We did, however, see lots of mountain lion poop.  Maybe they should rename the canyon.

On Saturday morning, Todd drove me WAAAY up to the top of the mountain so that I could run back down it.

The good news:  I was screaming fast.

The bad news:  I am far too uncoordinated to run screaming fast.  (You don’t even want to know what my knee looks like.)

It was a fabulous run except for about six bloody feet right in the middle.  The views were spectacular.

By the way, it turns out that the palms of your hands really are quite useful.  I highly recommend NOT scraping all of the skin off of them.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

