Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

And In Other News: I Cleaned the Living Room Carpet June 23, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 9:18 pm

Summertime and blogging just do not go together.   I am having too much fun with the munchkins (swimming, games, picnics, and more swimming) to take time out for blogging.  I had just made my peace with this when I read something tonight that brought on horrible guilt about my lack of record keeping.  In order for me to go to bed with a happy conscience, I will now do a “quick ketchup.”

Joshua had his first piano recital.  His performance was quite impressive, if I do say so myself.  He also got glasses.  He has spent the past several days wandering around the house exclaiming, “Wow, I can’t believe how much stuff I can see now!”  It doesn’t make me feel guilty at all for not getting him into glasses sooner.

The Jakester turned six!  In recognition of his birthday, the Shops at the Riverwoods threw him a party.  (I really must thank whoever schedules their parties – they keep aligning perfectly with my munchkins’ birthdays.)

There were balloon animals (believe it or not, this is a cat)

and real animals…

and carousel rides…

and face painting…

and personal heroes…

and fountains…

and Malawai’s yummy Berries and Cream Pizza!  (Shhh, don’t tell the boys.  Em and I snuck off for this one.)

For his real birthday party, Jakob chose to go to the Lehi Trafalga (oh, how we love our family set of Pass of all Passes).

The munchkins had lots of fun on the rides…

(That dark spot at the back of the pool is Daniel.  That’s right, for three brief minutes, he did something FUN!)

but Jakob’s favorite activity was Laser Tag, which I totally didn’t take any pictures of because I was too busy trying to avoid being killed by a small army of laser-armed children.  The tiny ones are merciless, I’ll have you know.

After a birthday lunch at Chuck-a-rama (sometimes as parents we must make sacrifices for our children), we headed home for birthday cake and PRESENTS!

Check out the rings on his fingers.  They were from the Riverwoods party, and he wore them all day long.  This didn’t embarrass Daniel at all.

This is the much anticipated Darth Vader lightsaber!

This blur is a rocket launcher from Grandma and Grandpa Houghton.  We now have rockets on top of our roof and trailer.  And all over the house.

And this blur is a Lego set from his siblings.  He was too excited to hold still for pictures.

I adore this happy little boy with the Jack-o-lantern smile.  He has filled the past four and a half years with laughter and joy.

It makes me glad that I didn’t kill him during his extremely colicky first year and a half of life.  😉

 

2 Responses to “And In Other News: I Cleaned the Living Room Carpet”

  1. janae Says:

    Two things:

    1) Yes! I still have a presence! And someone else obviously thinks the ketchup comment is clever, too!
    2) I still don’t know how you do it, but the way you write can make even mundane things hilarious! I love your posts!

  2. mommyoffive Says:

    Janae,

    You will always have a presence. But where is the birth story that I have been so eagerly waiting for?!?!

    PS – I LOVE the “quick ketchup” line. Thank you for letting me borrow it. Repeatedly.


Leave a Reply

