Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Freedom Festivities, Day Two: Up, Up and Away July 9, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 9:20 pm

On Tuesday morning, I rolled out of bed at 0’dark thirty, plopped on a baseball cap, loaded four sleepy munchkins into the suburban, and headed into Provo for the Balloon Festival.

(Side note:  I parked right next to the inexplicably popular C.Jane, which was awkward.  Normally, when I park next to a total stranger, I’ll smile vaguely at them and say, “Good morning.”  But I was worried that if I did that, she would think that I was some kind of deranged blogstalker.  Which I am, but she doesn’t need to know to know that.  Her blog seriously annoys me, but it also keeps drawing me in.  Weird.  I do have to say that she is much prettier in person than she is on her blog.  Anyway…)

(Another side note:  I totally stole some of these pictures from my awesome friend Jessica, because she has a real camera and takes better pictures than I do.  Thanks, Jessica!)

Many residents of Utah County mistakenly believe that if they have seen the balloons flying in the sky, they have experienced the balloon festival.  They are wrong.  You have not truly experienced the balloon festival until you have joined the balloons on the field.

The balloons are everywhere.  And they are huge.

I love watching the whole process of inflating them.  It turns out that the air that they blow into the balloons really is hot.  Who knew?

At one point, Joshua asked what would happen if one of the balloons fell over.  I laughed and said that probably wouldn’t happen.  Then, just a few minutes later, this balloon totally came crashing to the ground!  We learned that when a balloon falls over, lots of people run to get out of the way while the balloon’s owners work frantically to keep it from being damaged.

(If you look really closely, you can see Josh and Jakob in the lower left-hand corner.)

When all of the balloons are inflated, you feel like you’re in a giant balloon maze.

This is what happens when I try to get a decent picture picture of the munchkins at 6:30 AM. 

Why yes, Bizzie is wearing the same clothes she had on the night before.  Don’t judge.

This is Jakob rockin’ the 3-D glasses he found in my purse.  What?  Doesn’t everyone carry around an extra pair of 3-D glasses?

Once the balloons were all up in the air, it was time for the games to begin.  We were in the perfect spot – each of the balloons swooped in right over our heads as they headed for the bean bag target or tried to pop some giant balloons that were tied around the field.  The crowd would go wild whenever a balloon driver met with success.  It was almost like being at a giant, fluffy football game.  And let me tell you, those balloon drivers have some mad skills.

Here comes Smoky the Bear, swooping in for an almost perfect target drop.

Eventually, the winds shifted, the balloons flew away, and the munchkins and I returned home for breakfast.

A hot air balloon ride is definitely on my bucket list.

 

One Response to “Freedom Festivities, Day Two: Up, Up and Away”

  1. janae Says:

    Three things:

    1) Man that looks cool! You should have invited me! 😉
    2) I think Courtney’s blogs is incredibly boring and stopped reading it as soon as Stephanie was better. Apparently my ADD extends to blogs as well.
    3) My best friend from college was neighbors with Courtney for several years and is really good friends with her. (I think they were in the YW presidency together.) Said friend doesn’t do blog stalking stuff, so she didn’t even know about CJane until they had been friends for a couple years. haha!


Leave a Reply

