Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Close Encounters With Wildlife August 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 8:50 pm

I’ve been meaning to write a post about my running trails for quite some time now, but I’ll probably never get around to it.  I do most of my running either right along the river, or through some beautiful farmland.  Suffice it to say that I run through some gorgeous scenery.  Nothing beats a sunset seen across a peaceful pasture with mountains rising in the distance.

Even better than the scenery are all of the animals I get to see.  I have my favorite little group of ducks in the river, and LOTS of friendly (and beautiful) horses, and the pheasant that scares the living daylights out of me at least once a month, and the cute little rooster who crows so earnestly as I run by, and a goat, and some llamas, and a family of marmots, and a variety of birds, bugs, and snakes.

And about 80% of the time, I get to see some lovely deer – a mommy, a BABY, and… an aunt? sister? eccentric neighbor?

This morning was no exception.  I had just moved a baby snake closer to the river so that he wouldn’t be tortured by any children on their way to school (Why must kids be so MEAN to snakes?) when I came around a curve and saw a deer standing right in the middle of the trail.  I am used to seeing deer a few miles into my run, but this was right by the sports park.  After overcoming my initial surprise of seeing a deer so close to home, I decided to keep on running toward her, as she would surely step off the trail soon.

Nope.  This deer was staring. me. down.  She wasn’t gonna budge.

I jogged on.  She kept staring.

I pressed forward courageously.  No mere deer was gonna beat me in a game of chicken.

Except for maybe this deer, who was still standing calmly in the middle of the trail.

I was ten feet away.  She didn’t blink.

I began to falter.  She looked like she was going to charge.  Was that foam coming out of her mouth?

Eight feet.  I was scared.  She wasn’t moving.

I decided to bluff.  “Hello, are you going to move?” I asked bravely.

And finally, finally, she jumped off the path.  Two graceful deer leaps toward the river, and then she turned around and stared at me some more.

I think she was trying not to laugh.

 

3 Responses to “Close Encounters With Wildlife”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Woah, that is amazing! When do you run? that would be awesome and scary at the same time!

    • mommyoffive Says:

      Jessica – This was at 7:30ish in the morning, so it was a totally busy time for the trail. I have no idea what the deer was doing there. I usually run either at 7 AM or 8 PM, and the deer family is in the old forest just past the cornfield on the part of the trail across from the IFA road. Clear as mud?

  2. janae Says:

    That is REALLY close to the sports park. What on earth was she doin’ in the ‘burbs?!


Leave a Reply

