Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Best First Week Ever August 29, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 10:55 am

Last Monday, we went to 7 Peaks for what may have been our final swimming trip of the summer.  (Boo!)

On Tuesday, this happened (Boo!):

After all of the munchkins were safely in school, I met up with some friends at the park for a “Back-to-School Morning of Mourning” where we ate some yummy food (Hooray!) while the littles adjusted to daytime life as only children.   (By the way, Sara H – If you’re reading this, I need your recipe for those eggy things.)

While Joshua had football practice, I raced up to Salt Lake to pick up some RSL tickets.  (Hooray!)

Then we got to party like really boring rock stars at the Cougar Kick-off.  Joshua got lots of autographs and even got to wear the football helmet of an actual BYU football player.  (Hooray!) 

Jakob hung out with the cheerleaders and got lost a lot.  (Dear Sweet Blonde Cheerleader, Thank you for flipping around in the air so much that I totally thought you were going to hurl just to keep my little boy entertained.  In his defense, your fellow cheerleaders were egging him on.)

On our way home, Joshua threw up.  (BOO!)  Too much excitement, too little food.  He was fine the next morning.

On Wednesday, we canned lots and lots of salsa.  (Hooray for the salsa, boo for the canning.)

Joshua had his first football game.  (Hooray!)  His team lost.  Big time.  (Boo!)  Jakob and his friends were bored about 20 minutes 10 minutes 30 seconds into the game and decided to have fun with my phone camera instead.  It turns out that the six and under crowd are much better photographers than I am.

Thursday was Book Club Day. (Hooray!)  Todd brought home 50 bazillion bushels of peaches for me to can.  (Free – hooray!)

On Friday, my mom and sister dropped by to take me out for a pre-birthday lunch. (Hooray!)  Then I had to can all of those 50 bazillion bushels of peaches.  (Boo!)

On Saturday, I got to spend the day at the lake with Daniel, Emma, and the rest of the teenagers in our ward.  (Hooray!)   Daniel did one of the most spectacular back flips off a tube that I have ever seen.  (Hooray for those of us on the boat who were able to observe this masterpiece of boy-meets-giant-wave.)

Daniel, Emma, and I are now a lovely shade of fushia.  (Boo!)

Then I ran eight miles through a hurricane-like storm.  (Running in the rain – hooray!  Running in the rain after spending the day on a beach in the sun and being exhausted – boo!)  (For those of you who don’t think a day at the beach is exhausting, I offer the following evidence:  During the fifty minute ride home, all but one of the seven teens in my car fell asleep.  Once we got home, Daniel went to bed at approximately 5:30 PM and didn’t wake up again until 7:30 the next morning.  We played hard.)

On Sunday, we all got up early and actually made it to church on time.  (Gasp!)

Then we all came home and took looong naps.

My cousin and her cute family came over for dinner. (Hooray!)  Sarah beat me during our first game of Perpetual Commotion.  (Boo!)  I kicked her trash in the second round.  (Hooray!)  We may have frightened my cousin’s family a bit.   (They’ll get over it.)

One week down, thirty-seven to go.  I will survive!

 

One Response to “Best First Week Ever”

  1. Sara Says:

    I was a little suprised to see my name in your blog post. Then I remembered I told you I stalk your blog… 😉

    So, this is my recipe:
    (All my recipes sound like this. I don’t like to measure.)

    8 or 9 eggs depending on the size
    Milk, IDK how much. Until it makes a good sized “cloud” in the eggs. Maybe a 1/4 to a 1/3 of a cup
    a handful of cheese, plus some for the tops
    sprinkle of dry ranch dressing
    3 slices of thickly sliced ham, cut into quarters

    Heat oven to 350 degrees. Spray muffin tin. Place sliced ham in individual muffin cups. Scramble eggs with milk, cheese, and ranch dressing. Top with cheese. Bake 15-20 mins. Makes 12 muffins.
    Sometimes I add a couple of tablespoons of melted butter in with the egg mixture.


Leave a Reply

