Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Skateboardin’ Santa September 1, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 3:39 pm

 A few days ago, I was happily running down the trail, minding my own business, when out of nowhere – SWOOSH!! – Santa came skateboarding by.  He had a long gray beard and was wearing a long-sleeved shirt with Bermuda shorts.  He was also barefoot.  I swear I am not making this up.  After I recovered from my initial fright (skateboards are very quiet when they’re coming up behind you), I thought, “Hooray!  Another barefooter!”  And then his skateboard hit a rock and he totally crashed.  In his defense, it was still pretty dark.  Tiny rocks are hard to see in the dark.  Anyway, it looked very painful.  I could see where shoes might have come in handy.  He picked himself up and sped off, so I figured that he must be okay.  Secretly I was just glad that for once I wasn’t the one with the embarrassing fall.

But another mile or so down the trail I saw him again.  This time, he was lying on the side of the trail, gazing up at the stars.  Maybe he was plotting out his Christmas Eve delivery route.

Or maybe he just realized that skateboarding barefoot in the dark is a bad idea.

In other running news…

I didn’t see any deer while running this week.  Not a single one.  Several of my neighbors have reported seeing deer on the trail closer to my house (one with a  nice set of antlers), though, so maybe they just moved down trail.  Or maybe they just like to sleep in, and I’m missing them now that I have to run at 0’dark thirty so that I can make it home in time to get the munchkins to school.

I did see the usual livestock (a super cute baby cow came to say hi to me this morning), and snakes, and snails, and worms, and a lovely patch of skunk leather.  It’s been squished for so long that it doesn’t stink any more, which is sad for me, because I actually like the smell of skunks.

I also saw some magnificent thunderbolts and lightning (very, very frightning).

Deer season is right around the corner.  (A-ha!  Maybe the deer are all hiding from hunters!)  I can tell because this morning every farmer in Spanish Fork was out in his fields doing some target practice.  There were guns going off all over the place.  I felt like I was running through the Battle of Marathon, but the mean old Persians had guns and I was armed only with my phone.

Next time, I think I’ll wear hunter orange just to be safe.

 

 

One Response to “Skateboardin’ Santa”

  1. janae Says:

    For the record, I enjoy the smell of skunks as well. I thought I was alone in the world, but I should have known that you’d be my soul mate on something like that. 🙂


Leave a Reply

