Keeping Up With the Jameses

Adventures in Modern Day Motherhood

Well… November 8, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommyoffive @ 10:17 am

On Tuesday night, Sarah and I got all dolled up and headed up to the big city to watch election results with Senator Lee and some friends from the campaign.  For the first thirty minutes or so, it was wonderful to visit with Mike and catch up with his wife, who is one of the most darling, thoughtful people on the planet.

Then the results started coming in.  I’ll never forget the look on Mike’s face as he turned from the TV screen to Sharon and quietly said, “What are we going to do now?”

Watching the election results with a US Senator, someone who truly understands the depth of our nation’s problems and has access to information that most of the public does not have, was a somber experience.  I fear for my country.  When I look at the future we are leaving for our children, I am terrified.

Sarah and I spent the drive home trying not to cry.

Yesterday, I stepped in vomit as I was starting a batch of laundry first thing in the morning.  (I am pleased to report that I resisted the urge to kill Joshua, a.k.a the Puker, and most likely only burned off the outermost layer of my skin as I attempted to sanitize my foot.)

Then, the monitor on my Suburban let me know that one of my tires was low.  Unfortunately, it told me the wrong tire.  And the munchkins lost my air pressure gauge. So I spent a good part of my afternoon putting random amounts of air into my tires and hoping that they wouldn’t explode on the freeway.  By the way, did you know that you can inflate a radial tire up to 68 psi and it will still look flat?  Not that I would have first-hand knowledge of that.  Nope.  Not me.

My roses tried to kill me when I pruned them for the winter.

I had to go shopping.

And then to a PTSO meeting.

With improperly inflated tires.

And to add insult to injury, for some inexplicable reason, my television decided NOT to record Arrow.

It was the one thing I had to look forward to.

Today is looking much brighter.  No one has thrown up, my tires are happy, and a group of friends and I are already formulating plans to do a better job of getting our message out to America.  As Samuel Adams once said, “Let us awaken then, and evince a different spirit — a spirit that shall inspire the people with confidence in themselves and in us – a spirit that will encourage them to persevere in this glorious struggle, until their rights and liberties shall be established on a rock!”

Plus, I just watched Arrow on my computer.  Nothing can go wrong now!

Note to Universe:  That wasn’t a dare.

 

One Response to “Well…”

  1. janae Says:

    Pretty sure the entire state was collectively depressed on Wednesday. My liberal cousin just posted on Facebook that the U.S. “dodged a bullet” by not electing Romney. I want to punch him in the mouth.


Leave a Reply

